Today I checked on the nest and I’m happy to report I’ve got babies!!! 🙂
We started off with 5 eggs and although I can’t see all of them in the picture I’m hoping the one on the bottom is fine. I tried finding a bluebird monitoring book but the only one I could find was written by the Bluebird Society and published several years ago and apparently are all out of print. The used books are going for over $100.!! YIKES!
From what I read on the web they suggest you pick the babies up and check them for bugs although I don’t feel very comfortable doing such a thing. Bluebirds apparently have a poor sense of smell so touching the birds wont deter the parents from raising them. I am curious about the one buried underneath all the other ones but I’m just not ready for that step yet.
I feel like a proud step parent right now!